London Marathon Q&A with Jan Powell

Jan Powell from Llanidloes completed the London Marathon on Sunday 23 April in aid of Macmilllan Cancer Support. Jan raised a staggering £5230!

We asked Jan about her reasons for running, her training and her fundraising tips.

Tell us a little bit about why you chose to run the London Marathon?

This is my first (and only) ever marathon!

jan at tower bridgeI have tried several times to get in with the ballot and been turned down.  This time I felt it was the right time to enter for a golden bond place.

Running is a good way of keeping fit, plus it gives you time in your mind to sort the world out.

What are your reasons for supporting Macmillan, and what have you enjoyed most about supporting the cause?

I have had a few family members that have used Macmillan nurses and they have made such a difference at a time when they were needed the most.

I’ve enjoyed the stories that people have told me as to how Macmillan has made a difference to them.  I like being able to pay it forward, as other people did something like this to help fund the services my family members have used and benefitted from.

What were you most looking forward to and what challenges did you face?jan running past mac cheer point 2 cropped

I couldn’t wait for the race to start, to work my way through the route and to run down the mall and get the medal at the end…. I was looking forward to it all!

I was also nervous about all of it and not finishing.

Training had been slowed as I hurt a tendon in my foot quite badly in December so couldn’t start running again then and then could only train gingerly until the end of January. I hadn’t had as many miles in my legs as planned or done the length of run.

It can be a little daunting signing up to a marathon, especially if you haven’t done one before. Would you encourage others to sign up and what tips would you give them?

jan with medalYes I would encourage people to do it.  I have a group of friends who have helped me with the fundraising and general help and support with training.  It’s been a brilliant 6 months. I’ve loved every minute.

My tips would be to ensure you have thought through the time that training will take up.  3 hours running one day at the weekend every weekend by the end, cuts in to your life.  Also consider how you are going to raise the amount you have signed up to do.

You have done an amazing job of fundraising! What tips would you have for others wanting to fundraise for a challenge event?

Cake Stall – we held a cake stall at a local co-op on a Saturday morning in November.  We sold raffle tickets for a hamper and other prizes and reindeer food. We raised £921.74

Reindeer Run – we did a reindeer run the last Saturday before Christmas.  Everyone had to ‘stroll, shimmy or sprint’.  We had a zumba warm up and Father Christmas started the race and handed the medals out at the end. We had face painting, mulled wine and mince pies, teas and coffee, and a tombola.  120 people entered and we raised over £700.

Zumbathon – We held a zumbathon in Rhayader Sports Centre; the facilities were given free and I am a zumba instructor.  We had 4 instructors over 3 hours and over 100 were dancing. We had a huge raffle and it was a fantastic day.  We raised £1000.

Wine and Cheese Night – We held a wine and cheese night in a local venue.  We sold over 100 tickets, had a live band, lots of raffle prizes again and raised another £1000.

We were so chuffed to be able to see Jan on the day at one of the Macmillan cheerpoints, and cheer her on in person.

Thanks so much to Jan for your support and what a fantastic achievement – well done!

 

Leave a Reply

